Mailing Address: P.O. Box 6497, Macon, GA 31208-6497
"Lanier and Anderson" began in 1849 when Robert Lanier and William Anderson began practicing law in Macon. Lanier met Anderson in college and married Anderson's sister Mary in 1840. In 1842 they became parents of the poet, Sidney Lanier who practiced with the firm briefly.
Younger brother, Clifford Anderson, studied under Robert Lanier and was admitted to the bar in 1852. Lanier died in 1893. Clifford was a member of the Confederate Congress, Judge of Macon City Court, a Macon City Councilman and later a State Legislator. He was Georgia's Attorney General from 1880-1890. When Mercer University established a law school in 1878, Anderson was a member of its first faculty. The school's first building was named for Partner, T.E. Ryals.
Most of Lanier's and Anderson's sons practiced law. Anderson’s eldest Clifford L. Anderson, practiced in Macon before moving to Atlanta to found a forerunner of the Jones Day Firm. James Anderson practiced with his brother’s firm in Atlanta. In 1893 Robert L. Anderson formed a 30 year partnership with T.E. Ryals. Robert Anderson, Jr. joined them in 1922 and Charles W. Walker in 1933. Albert P. Reichert joined in 1949, from which the firm took its present name in 1959.
U.S. Air Force JAG, Lt. Col. (Retired)
Senior Judge, Probate Courts of Georgia