Best's Insurance Professionals and Claims Resource

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Company Search > Company Display
Best's Recommended Insurance Attorneys
General Defense
400 West Market Street, Suite 2300
Louisville, Kentucky 40202-3354Locate in Google Maps
Telephone: 502-589-5980
Fax: 502-561-9400
E-Mail: louisville@bsg-law.com
www.bsg-law.com
Practice Areas
About Us
Additional Locations
Client Information
Personnel
Established: 1895

Practice Areas
  • Insurance Litigation
  • Casualty
  • Surety
  • Admiralty and Maritime Law
  • Workers' Compensation
  • Product Liability
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Professional Malpractice
Back To Top

About Us
Attorneys at Boehl Stopher & Graves, LLP have over one hundred years of background and experience in providing legal services and for well over forty five years, the Firm has carried an "AV" rating in Martindale Hubbell Law Directory.

Boehl Stopher & Graves, LLP, was originally founded in 1895 as Blakey, Quinn & Lewis. Through the early 1900s, the Firm acted as adjusters with authority to settle claims on behalf of insurance companies. Mr. Joseph E. Stopher was one of the first attorneys associated with the firm to try cases beginning in the 1940s. Since that time, the firm has become known as one of the ‘Most Prolific Trial Law Firms’ in the state according to The Kentucky Trial Court Review.

The Firm became known as Boehl Stopher & Graves, LLP in April of 1993, coinciding with the move of the Firm’s Louisville office to the Aegon Center at Fourth and Market Streets. Although the Firm name has undergone five alterations since its inception, the firm has never merged in its history making it somewhat unique. All growth has been internal.

Boehl Stopher & Graves, LLP is the eighth largest law firm in Kentucky and was one of the first law firms in Kentucky to open satellite offices expanding to Lexington, Kentucky in the early 1940s and opening an office in Paducah, Kentucky one year later. In the 1980s, Boehl Stopher & Graves, LLP opened offices in Pikeville, Kentucky and New Albany, Indiana, providing legal representation throughout Kentucky and southern Indiana.

Throughout its 115 year history, the Firm has successfully defended major corporations in high profile jury trials. The Firm’s efforts have earned numerous awards and other recognitions. In addition to its AV rating, the highest available in the nationally published Martindale Hubbell Law Directory, fourteen of the Firm’s attorneys have been named to the Best Lawyers in America and two of the Firm’s members have been elected to the American College of Trial Lawyers. U.S. News & World Report recently named the Firm as one of the best law firms in the United States.
Back To Top

Additional Locations
New Albany, Indiana
Elsby East Building
400 Pearl Street, Suite 204
New Albany, Indiana 47150
Telephone: 812-948-5053
Lexington, Kentucky
444 West Second Street
Lexington, Kentucky 40507
Telephone: 859-252-6721
Fax: 859-253-1445
Paducah, Kentucky
410 Broadway Street
Paducah, Kentucky 42001
Telephone: 270-442-4369
Fax: 270-442-4689
Back To Top

Client Information
Insurance Clients
Amerisure CompaniesArgonaut Insurance Company
Associated Aviation UnderwritersBankers Multiple Line Insurance Company
Great American Insurance CompanyThe Hartford Insurance Group
Kemper Insurance CompaniesLiberty Mutual Insurance Company
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
Back To Top

Personnel Information
Partners
Herbert F. Boehl — (1894-1986)
Arthur J. Deindoefer — (1907-1990)
Raymond O. Harmon — (1918-1990)
James M. Graves — (1912-1994)
William M. Newman, Jr. — (1949-1995)
Joseph E. Stopher — (1914-2006)
Larry J. Johnson — (1940-2010)
Edward H. Stopher
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:estopher@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1968
Memberships:
  • American and Kentucky Bar Associations
  • Life Member, Sixth Circuit Judicial Conference
Education:
  • University of Virginia, J.D., 1968
Born:1943
Back To Top

Nolan Carter, Jr.
Lexington, KY
E-Mail:ncarter@bsglex.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1962
Memberships:
  • Kentucky and Fayette County Bar Associations
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, J.D., 1962
Born:1938
Back To Top

Robert E. Stopher
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:rstopher@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1977
Memberships:
  • American, Kentucky and Louisville Bar Associations
Education:
  • University of Virginia, J.D., 1977
Born:1952
Back To Top

Raymond G. Smith
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:rsmith@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1977
Education:
  • Southern Methodist University, J.D., 1977
Born:1951
Back To Top

Walter E. Harding
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:wharding@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1979
Education:
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 1978
Born:1952
Back To Top

Richard L. Walter
Paducah, KY
E-Mail:rwalter@bsgpad.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1980
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, J.D., 1980
Born:1955
Back To Top

Guillermo A. Carlos
Lexington, KY
E-Mail:gcarlos@bsglex.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1982
Memberships:
  • Kentucky Bar Association
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, J.D., 1982
Born:1956
Back To Top

Jeffrey L. Hansford
New Albany, IN
E-Mail:jhansford@bsg-in.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1987
Education:
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 1987
Born:1953
Back To Top

Matthew Hunter Jones
New Albany, IN
E-Mail:mjones@bsg-in.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1987
Memberships:
  • American, Indiana State and Floyd County Bar Associations
  • National Association of Life Underwriters
Education:
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 1987
Born:1961
Back To Top

Richard W. Edwards
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:redwards@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1988
Memberships:
  • Kentucky and Louisville Bar Associations
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, J.D., 1988
Born:1961
Back To Top

David T. Klapheke
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:dklapheke@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Minnesota, 1988
  • Kentucky, 1995
  • U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Wisconsin, 1989
  • U.S. District Court, District of Minnesota, 1990
Memberships:
  • American, Minnesota State and Kentucky Bar Associations
Education:
  • Indiana University, B.A. (with distinction), 1985
  • Vanderbilt University, J.D., 1988
Born:1964
Back To Top

Rod D. Payne
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:rpayne@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1997
Memberships:
  • Louisville Bar Association
Education:
  • Western Kentucky University, B.A., 1994
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 1997
Born:1967
Back To Top

Scott A. Davidson
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:sdavidson@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1994
Memberships:
  • Kentucky and Louisville Bar Associations
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, J.D., 1994
Born:1970
Back To Top

Tiara B. Shoter
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:tshoter@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • New Jersey, 1996
  • New York, 1997
  • Kentucky, 1998
Education:
  • Barnard College, B.A., 1993
  • Brooklyn Law School, J.D., 1996
Born:1971
Back To Top

Earl L. Martin
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:emartin@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2000
Memberships:
  • Louisville Bar Association
Education:
  • University of Virginia, B.A., 1996
  • Emory University, J.D., 1999
Born:1973
Back To Top

David E. Crittenden
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:dcrittenden@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1996
Education:
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, B.S., 1992
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 1995
Born:1971
Back To Top

Matthew B. Gay
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:mgay@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1998
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, B.A., 1995
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 1998
Born:1973
Back To Top

Edwin A. Jones
Paducah, KY
E-Mail:ejones@bsgpad.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1990
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Kentucky
Memberships:
  • Kentucky and McCracken Bar Associations
Education:
  • Evangel University, B.A., 1987
  • University of Kentucky, J.D., 1990
Born:1964
Back To Top

Michael S. Jackson
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:mjackson@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1994
Education:
  • University of South Carolina, B.A., 1991
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 1994
Born:1969
Back To Top

Curtis P. Moutardier
New Albany, IN
E-Mail:cmoutardier@bsg-in.com
Admitted
  • Indiana, 2002
Education:
  • Indiana University, B.A. (with distinction), 1996
  • Indiana University, J.D. (magna cum laude), 2002
Born:1974
Back To Top

James Cooper
Lexington, KY
E-Mail:jcooper@bsglex.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1986
Education:
  • University of Kentucky College of Law, J.D., 1986
Back To Top

Craig Z. Clymer
Paducah, KY
E-Mail:cclymer@bsgpad.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1988
Education:
  • Northern Kentucky University, Salmon P. Chase College of Law, J.D., 1988
Back To Top
Associates
Robert M. Brooks
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:rbrooks@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1981
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, J.D., 1981
Born:1956
Back To Top

Charles D. Walter
Paducah, KY
E-Mail:cwalter@bsgpad.com
Admitted
  • Illinois, 1986
  • Kentucky, 1988
Memberships:
  • American, Illinois State, Kentucky and McCracken County Bar Associations
Education:
  • Southern Illinois University, J.D., 1986
Born:1961
Back To Top

Robert D. Bobrow
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:rbobrow@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 1995
Memberships:
  • Louisville Bar Association
Education:
  • University of Louisville, B.A., 1983
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 1995
Born:1960
Back To Top

Charles H. Stopher
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:cstopher@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2005
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Kentucky
Memberships:
  • Louisville Bar Association
Education:
  • University of Virginia, B.A., 2001
  • University of Virginia School of Law, J.D., 2005
Born:1979
Back To Top

Michelle Duncan
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:mduncan@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2008
  • U.S. District Court, Eastern and Western Districts of Kentucky
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit
Memberships:
  • American, Kentucky and Louisville Bar Associations
  • Kentucky Women's Lawyers Association
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, B.B.A., 2004
  • University of Kentucky College of Law, J.D., 2008
Back To Top

William Lucas McCall
Paducah, KY
E-Mail:lmccall@bsgpad.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2011
Memberships:
  • Kentucky and McCracken County Bar Associations
Education:
  • Murray State University, B.S., 2001
  • Southern Illinois University Law School, J.D. (magna cum laude), 2010
Born:1979
Back To Top

Todd P. Greer
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:tgreer@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2008
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Kentucky, 2011
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit, 2012
Education:
  • University of Kentucky, B.A./B.A. (with honors), 2004
  • Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, University of Louisville, J.D. (cum laude), 2008
Born:1982
Back To Top

E. Michael Ooley
New Albany, IN
E-Mail:Mikeooley@bsg-in.com
Admitted
  • Indiana, 1993
  • U.S. District Court, Northern and Southern Districts of Indiana
Education:
  • Indiana University, B.A., 1986
  • Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, University of Louisville, J.D., 1993
Back To Top

Chastity R. Beyl
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:cbeyl@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2001
  • U.S. District Court, Eastern and Western Districts of Kentucky, 2012
Memberships:
  • Kentucky and Louisville Bar Associations
Education:
  • Western Kentucky University, B.A., 1998
  • Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, University of Louisville, J.D. (cum laude), 2001
Born:1975
Back To Top

Michael Erena
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:merena@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2014
Memberships:
  • Kentucky Bar Association (Young Lawyers Division)
Education:
  • University of Kentucky College of Law, J.D. (magna cum laude), 2014
Back To Top

Mark Roth
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:mroth@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2016
Memberships:
  • Kentucky Bar Association
Education:
  • University of Kentucky College of Law, J.D., 2016
Back To Top

Clay Turner
Louisville, KY
E-Mail:cmturner@bsg-law.com
Admitted
  • Kentucky, 2013
Memberships:
  • Kentucky Bar Association (Young Lawyers Division)
Education:
  • University of Kentucky College of Law, J.D., 2013
Back To Top

Tyson P. Schroeder
New Albany, IN
E-Mail:tschroeder@bsg-in.com
Admitted
  • Indiana, 2009
Education:
  • University of Louisville, J.D., 2009
Back To Top